Posted by: cusenbary | July 6, 2010

On the upswing and back to work!

After another trip to Denver, and a call with UCSF – it is confirmed that Brad’s biopsy shows nothing but necrotic cells (dead tissue) and the scan reiterated this with signs of tumor cells dying.  So, Brad is back on the move – and heading full steam ahead.  We head to San Diego on Wednesday to see a highly acclaimed physical therapist that will hopefully be able to spark something upstairs.  As you can imagine we have big hopes and renewed optimism that she can get things firing again on the right side.

Brad is also busting buns to help the Sunshine Kids at our annual fundraiser, the Tour de Steamboat.  I have pasted a letter he shared with some friends about the event.  If you are interested in helping us raise money for this incredible organization, please check out TourdeSteamboat.com.  There a lot of ways to support the ‘Kids’: 1) Attend the benefit dinner on July 16th.  2) Sign up for a ride on July 17 – we are now offering 3 routes of 25, 40 & 100 mile distances!  3) Purchase a ticket for the Eriksen Bike Frame Drawing (value of $3,000…this bike has more titanium than Brad has in his head!).  4) Volunteer  5) Donate via checks

Dear Friends and Family,

First and foremost, I want to thank you for your continued support through this speed bump of life from both Laura and I. It’s through your encouragement and prayers that we are able to push through this challenge with not only a smile on our face but laughter in our voice. I wish I could personally write each and every one of you, but with typing one handed (left at that) it would take the better part of summer.

Many of you continue to ask what you can do to help. You already do more than you realize with thoughts and prayers; however, today there is an opportunity to do more. Laura and I have been working with the Sunshine Kids Foundation for the past four years, hosting them in Steamboat for winter and summer trips. All of the kids involved in the Sunshine Kids have some form of cancer, and these trips give them an opportunity to get out of hospitals and have fun with other kids. My personal experiences over the past year have opened my eyes as to how special the Sunshine Kids Foundation truly is.

I, along with business partner, Katie Lindquist, and help from Laura and our amazing team of volunteers, converted a century bike ride event to a benefit for the Sunshine Kids. For the past two years, we’ve been able to raise over $40,000 for the “Kids” through the event with help from friends and family. If you want to help us raise money for the Sunshine Kids in 2010, please visit: www.tourdesteamboat.com. We are hoping to round up riders, volunteers, contributions and attendance at the Benefit Dinner on July 16th – any and all are tremendously appreciated.

Thanks again for your continued support. Be looking for me hunting this fall, working cattle this summer, and you never can rule out being back on the bike. And you can guarantee Laura will post it all on the blog!

Love,

Brad


Responses

  1. Hey, you two, enjoy some of that cool breeze off the ocean waters for me. Isn’t that the last of the beaches untouched by a horrible spill? I am praying for your pt that they can find the miracle for Brad’s movement sohe can get “back on the bike”. I loved the letter, Brad! I am going to donate but unfortunately cannot take off work. I think Barb is getting a team together, so either way, I AM IN! (in spirit, mostly in the ghetto while it is going on, but I hope you post some videos of the race, too…if possible!) For those of us flatlanders, THANK YOU! I love you both.

  2. Glad to hear all is ok for now. Still praying daily things will all work out. Gardian angels are around everywhere…

    Later
    DC

  3. Great news! Keep me posted on physical therapy. Obviously, it interests me. Would love to help if I can…

  4. Glad to hear the good news Brad! Have fun at pt.

    LHP


Leave a comment

Categories